Sunday August 6, 2017

SAILING REQUIRES constant attention to the wind. If the wind swirls, I have to adjust the rudder. In a gusty wind, I have to adjust the sails. For maximum speed, I can shift my weight in the boat to hold down the windward side. With a strong wind there is never a moment I can let go of my attention.
In the Spirit-led life, the wind of God – the breath of the Spirit – propels me. Jesus explained the life of being born from above to Nicodemus: “The wind blows where it chooses, and you hear the sound of it, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes. So it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit” (John 3:8). As the wind blows with power and mystery, so the Spirit of God moves powerfully and mysteriously. As a disciple of Christ, I allow the wind of God to shape who I am and where I go.

Leave a Reply

